<<<  Return to the BodyMod.org Community
  Active TopicsActive Topics  CalendarCalendar  Search The ForumSearch  
Hardcore Ideas
 BodyMod.org Forum : Idea Banks : Hardcore Ideas
Message Icon Topic: Alternative placing for magnetic implant Post Reply Post New Topic
Page  of 2 Next >>
powerexcess
Mod-let
Mod-let

Total Mods: 0

Quote powerexcess Replybullet Topic: Alternative placing for magnetic implant
    Posted: August/30/2012 at 7:37pm
Hello everyone! First post over here Pleased! Looks like it turned out to be a long one, couldn't make it shorter, sorry!

-I am not sure if this is the right place for my post, correct me if I am wrong.

I am an electrologist engineer interested in a magnetic implant (the only place that one can has these is in his fingertip - or genital region). There are two problems keeping me back though.
Firstly, I play the piano and I think that continually bashing the implanted finger against the keyboard might expel the implant.
Secondly, I am also into powerlifting. I fear that the constant attraction of the  magnet to the barbell will again slowly force the implant to get out.

In order to solve the above problems I came up with an idea, I need your help in making sure whether it is feasible or not.
Instead of placing the spherical magnet inside the finger one could drive a pin shaped magnet into his finger tip. For this to be done of course there should be a "socket" on the fignertip. The implant will then be removable.

Two questions arise in this scenario. Will one still be able to feel the fields? And is the forming of this "socket" possible?
Concerning the first question i think that the answer is yes since the fingertip is sensitive enough and there wont be a many layers of dead skin between the magnet and the nerves.